Getting a Pennsylvania security license has many prerequisites. All of these may seem a little time-consuming for you. But don’t worry! We are here to guide you through all the steps. So make sure to read this article till the end!
In this state, the Private Detective Act of 1953 regulates all guard applications. According to the act, a safety officer can be uniformed or non-uniformed. And the primary function of this position is to secure and watch over people or property (either real or personal).
To get qualified, you should hand in all of the materials to the local county authority. Like other states, here also, officials distinguish the inquiries based on armed or unarmed categories. Additionally, a business permit procedure is different, too.
If the business wants to receive permission, at least one employee should meet the requirements. Below you can find some points from these regulations.
Please note that some processes may differ from county to county. Hence, check every detail with your local authorities before applying.
Some of the few requirements include:
After you submit the whole package of documents, the judge will decide which training you need to undergo.
An armed guard has the right to carry “lethal weapons”. Those weapons are designed to cause serious physical harm. Hence, the applicant ought to undergo special 40-hour training to receive the authorization. However, before the training, he or she is obliged to pass the following three stages.
We have broken down the steps for the safety guard qualification procedure.
As of now, there is no record of online licensing process, unlike, for example, the state of Arizona. The state official website allows downloading the necessary forms online. However, the whole package of required documents and your fingerprints needs to be handed to your local police station.
After you are done with the files, you will receive a hearing date appointment in the court. Generally, it takes up to 10 working days for the status to be updated.
You may see the status of your request anytime. Please find the status on the official website of the Pennsylvania State Police.
Before you receive an update on the status of your inquiry, you need to pay a $17.5 fee for a fingerprint card. If your request is approved, you have to pay an additional $200 fee to be able to start the training.
You can apply for renewal no earlier than 6 months of the expiration date. If your appeal is approved, you have to pass six months to complete the renewal training. After that, you will receive a new certification card. Again, you need to request the renewal from your local police department.