Cosmetologists perform cosmetic procedures, therapies, and treatments to satisfy the needs of the beauty industry clients. They get the opportunity to constantly develop their skills and experience. Moreover, cosmetologists come to work and express their talent on a daily basis.
In Pennsylvania, the State Board of Cosmetology manages the licensing process, while establishing requirements, rules and regulations related to the beauty industry. The body, in fact, organizes the practice and licensure estheticians, nail technicians, cosmetologists and cosmetology teachers.
If you find yourself compatible for this major, then you should give it a try. For that, you will need to obtain a Pennsylvania cosmetology license.
In case you have any questions regarding the licensure, this guide will help you.
If you need to check the status of your cosmetology license in Pennsylvania, then you can easily do it by visiting the official website of the Pennsylvania Department of State. Then click on “professional licensing”, and then on the button “verify a professional”.
When you complete these steps, you will be able to fill in the necessary information and get the information you wanted. Accordingly, it will also show the current status of your cosmetology license.
Note that you can also use this method to verify a cosmetologist and find information about the given professional.
State Board of Cosmetology
P.O. Box 2649,
Harrisburg, PA 17105-2649
One Penn Center,
2601 N. 3rd Street
Harrisburg, PA 17110
Phone: (717) 783-7130
Fax: (717) 705-5540
If you want to renew your expired Pennsylvania cosmetology license, then you must know, that there are different cases for expired license renewals.
If your cosmetology license has expired for less than 5 years, visit the Pennsylvania Department of State website to reactivate your license.
The reactivation fee is $297. You should make the payment by credit or debit card.
After you successfully reactivate your cosmetology license, the Board will inform you by mail.
It is highly important to provide a valid mailing address so that your license is not returned to the Board.
If your cosmetology license has expired for more than 5 years, then you must retake the cosmetology examination to reactivate the license.
To become a licensed cosmetologist in the state of Pennsylvania, you must complete the following steps.
In the first place, you should complete a cosmetology training program, which consists of 1250 hours. The mentioned hours may include professional material on hair design, hair cutting, makeup, texture and coloring, skin care, safety procedures, state laws and regulations.
The next step is to pass the state board cosmetology exam. The examination consists of two parts- Theory and Practical.
Click here to fill in the application for taking the exam.
This will also serve as your application for licensure.
To pass the theory exam, you will need to answer 110 questions, which cover Safety, rules, and regulations, permanent waving, styling, esthetics, nails, shampooing, scalp analysis and more.
For the practical part, you will need to perform a number of cosmetology services on a mannequin. The instructors will assess your performance of thermal styling with a curling, chemical relaxing, eyebrow tweezing, basic facial, skin cleansing, makeup application, nail polish application, skin analysis and so on.